Upper GI Test Tomorrow

Oh my goodness. Just a month ago, it seemed like this whole weight loss surgery thing was going to take forever, but now things finally seem to be moving along.

At 8:30 a.m. (when I am supposed to be at work for the last week of teacher workdays) I have to be a Baptist Hospital so they can check out my upper gastrointestinal region and make sure everything is okay. That means I can’t have anything to eat or drink for the next 12 hours. The no eating will be okay…but NO WATER after midnight?? What about my nightly tendency to go to the kitchen for a drink of water? Even the THOUGHT of not being able to drink water makes me thirsty. Ugh.

I hear the test will only take about 45 minutes. Then I will go to work for a few hours. And THEN the fun starts: At 3:00 p.m. I go see “The Prescriber” at the Mood Treatment Center. Doesn’t that title sound ominous? THE PRESCRIBER. I don’t know why they refer to the psychiatrist that way. (Which reminds me that I really need to post about my recent visit to the Mood Treatment Center and the wonderful encounter with one of the psychologists there.)

And as if THAT were not enough for one week, tomorrow I go to the 2-hour Nutrition Class. Woohoo! So this whole process is really moving along, right? But if that’s the case, then can anyone please tell me WHY I get so creeped out worrying that something is going to pop up at the last minute to keep all this from happening?

7 thoughts on “Upper GI Test Tomorrow

  1. Best of luck for the week! You’ll rock it! I know it’ll be a busy week but still….I nominated you for the three day quote challenge! The rules are on my blog! It’s perfectly ok if you don’t accept it …as you’re gonna be busy i see !!

  2. Things will be great!! During this phase it seems like you have an overwhelming amount of appointments and obligations but life does return to normal eventually. Hang in there.

  3. It could be worse (see my latest blog, lol). That whole “The Prescriber” thing is kind of creepy, if you ask me. And while I’m at it, I will never ever understand why the won’t allow us to have water, yet expect us to pee in pre-up for a pregnancy test. Anyway, I’m just blabbing. Glad your journey is moving now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

